Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef [SOLVED]

Please report bugs here. If you are unsure whether something is a bug or an expected behavior, please post it on the "Technical Support" forum instead, and wait for a moderator to handle/move the post.
TobiasDonaubauer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:29 am

Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef [SOLVED]

Postby TobiasDonaubauer » Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:02 am

I am getting following exception when starting the compiled app:

Error: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef 'ref System.Collections.Generic.List`1[ref Infsoft.CSHTML5.Controls.API.Devices.Device]': Error: Could not find the name 'Infsoft' in the namespace '<Infsoft.CSHTML5.Controls, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null Public Interface>'.

This is just happing in Firefox. In Internet Explorer and Chrome it's working fine. Any idea?

JS-Support @Userware
Site Admin
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef

Postby JS-Support @Userware » Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:44 am

Dear Tobias,

It is strange that the code is trying to find "Infsoft" in the namespace "Infsoft.CSHTML5.Controls".

Maybe you can try replacing List<Infsoft.CSHTML5.Controls.API.Devices.Device> with something like List<global::Infsoft.CSHTML5.Controls.API.Devices.Device> , or temporarily removing the namespace of the code that contains this line to see if it is related to an issue with namespaces.

If you manage to isolate the issue and send us some code to reproduce it, we should be able to fix it relatively quickly.

Alternatively, another hint is to try using the "Pause on Exception" feature of the FireFox Debugging Tools to see if you can find out the cause of this issue. To enable it:
1) Under FireFox, click Menu -> Developer -> Debugger, or press Ctrl+Shift+S. The "Debugger" panel will appear.
2) Click the wheel menu on the right and enable "Pause on Exceptions", as shown in the screenshot below:
FireFox pause on exceptions.png
FireFox pause on exceptions.png (9.59 KiB) Viewed 8934 times

3) Reload your app while keeping the"Debugger" panel open. A breakpoint will happen as soon as the exception takes place. It is likely that the location of the error will not be very telling because it will likely be somewhere in the system classes, but you can use the Call Stack to go back to a method of your own. In FireFox, the Call Stack is located on the left, as shown in the following screenshot:
FireFox Call Stack.png
FireFox Call Stack.png (21.76 KiB) Viewed 8934 times

4) Double-click to places in the call stack until you arrive to an interesting point, and place the pointer over a variable in the code to inspect its value.

Hope it helps.

Regards,
JS-Support

TobiasDonaubauer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:29 am

Re: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef

Postby TobiasDonaubauer » Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:57 am

I have tried everything but I am not able to fix the bug.

I have hosted the project here:


Maybe you can have a look at it. It immediately crashes when opening it with firefox. All other browsers are working fine.

Thanks, Tobias
Last edited by TobiasDonaubauer on Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

JS-Support @Userware
Site Admin
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef

Postby JS-Support @Userware » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:27 pm

Thanks Tobias. We are going to look into it asap.
PS: Your page looks super nice!

TobiasDonaubauer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:29 am

Re: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef

Postby TobiasDonaubauer » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:59 am

Work's now in Beta 6. Thanks!

JS-Support @Userware
Site Admin
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Failed to bind generic arguments for typeRef

Postby JS-Support @Userware » Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:18 am

Great! Thanks a lot!

Regards,
JS-Support


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests

 

 

cron